Follow

Considering that we are getting this issue reported to us as a bug almost few times a day, perhaps putting an explanation here can help Gnome 41 users know why they are getting all these notifications while talking screenshot.

Gnome has changed the API to “improve security” and as the result they have white-listed their own applications to access a “Private Portal API”, and blocked any other software to access the DBus interface!

🧵👇🏼

🧵👆🏼
Note that Flameshot is not the only software affected by this, basically any software that is not developed by Gnome people are practically “black-listed”.

So as a work-around we have switched to use the Public Portal API when running on Gnome and we hit another issue:

🧵👇🏼

🧵👆🏼
“There should be no way to get screen contents in Wayland without user consent via the portal. So while your users might complain, you should be confident that other screencast software should have the exact same restrictions.” said Michael Catanzaro a Gnome dev.

🧵👇🏼

🧵👆🏼

So basically the user will get prompted every single time we take a screenshot. We asked them to let the user choose to give a more permanent permission to specific softwares the want (similar to what Android, iOS, MacOS, etc. Does for years now and … well, read their responses here:

gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gnome-s

We are working with the portal devs to come up with a new system that only prompts you once but no one is actively working it!

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Fosstodon

Fosstodon is an English speaking Mastodon instance that is open to anyone who is interested in technology; particularly free & open source software.